Type: Grant Writing


The grant writing process can be daunting for early career scientists. In this webinar, we will have experts share their insights and experience on structuring the grant, the writing process, and building a compelling narrative. Questions from the audience as well as prepared questions will be addressed by the speakers. This zoom webinar is free and open to the public.


Dr. David L. Clark is the Director of the Los Alamos National Laboratory’s National Security Education Center. He received a Ph.D. in chemistry in 1986 from Indiana University. He was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Oxford before joining Los Alamos National Laboratory as a J. Robert Oppenheimer Fellow in 1988. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and a Los Alamos Laboratory Fellow, a recipient of two ACS national awards and two Defense Programs Awards of Excellence. His research interests are in the molecular and electronic structure of actinide materials, applications of synchrotron radiation to nuclear security, behavior of actinide and fission products in the environment, the aging effects of nuclear weapons materials, and the education of judges on the methods of science. He is an international authority on the chemistry and physics of the actinides, and has published over 180 peer-reviewed publications, encyclopedia and book chapters.

Dr. Jennifer Roizen serves as a program manager for the Solar Photochemistry program and the Fuels from Sunlight Hub in the Chemical Sciences, Geosciences and Biosciences Division in the DOE Office of Basic Energy Sciences. Dr. Roizen is also a member of the International Advisory Board for Angewandte Chemie. Dr. Roizen received her Ph.D. in organic chemistry in 2010 from California Institute of Technology and was subsequently supported as an NIH- and CMAD-Postdoctoral Fellow at Stanford University. Prior to joining the DOE in 2021, Dr. Roizen led an NIH-funded laboratory in the Department of Chemistry at Duke University. Her research laboratory pioneered radical-mediated sulfamate ester- and sulfamide-guided C-H functionalization methods, including photo- and electrochemically-driven approaches. Duke University recognized the high quality of her mentoring strategies with a 2020 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring.


  • Ella K. Pek, TETI (chair)
  • Md Azimul Haque, CHOISE (co-chair)
  • Daniel Markiewitz, CENT2
  • Levi Palmer, EPN
  • Michelle Smeaton, reMIND
  • Shunda Chen, μ-ATOMS