Science for our
Energy Future

Energy Frontier Research Center

Community Website


Download: Agenda | EFRC Forum Talks by Session | EFRC Forum Talks by Scientific Session

EFRC Forum Posters | EFRC Forum Talk Abstracts | EFRC Forum Poster Abstracts

Time Speaker Affiliation Title Slides Video
Wednesday – May 25, 2011 (7:30 AM–7:00 PM)
7:30 AM Registration
8:30 AM Steve Koonin DOE Under Secretary for Science Welcome and Introduction of Keynote Address  
See video
8:35 AM Steven Chu DOE Secretary of Energy Keynote Address PDF
See video

Pt.1 | Pt.2 | Pt.3

9:00 AM Senator Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)   PDF
See video
  Congressman Daniel Lipinski (D-IL)    
See video
  Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)    
See video
10:00 AM Break
10:30 AM - 12:00 PM Leading Perspectives in Energy Research
10:30 AM Bill Brinkman DOE Director of the Office of Science Introduction of Session  
See video
10:45 AM John Hennessy President of Stanford University   PDF
See video

Pt.1 | Pt.2 | Pt.3

11:15 AM Mark Little Senior Vice President and Director of GE Global Research   PDF
See video

Pt.1 | Pt.2

11:45 AM Eric Isaacs Director of Argonne National Laboratory   PDF
See video

Pt.1 | Pt.2 | Pt.3

12:15 PM - 1:30 PM Lunch Provided
12:30 PM - 1:00 PM Tilak Agerwala Vice President,Systems at IBM T. J. Watson Research Center Disruptive Innovations in Computing    
1:30 PM Nate Lewis Director of JCAP Fuels from Sunlight Energy Innovation Hub PDF
See video

Pt.1 | Pt.2 | Pt.3

2:00 PM EFRCs: A Response to Five Challenges for Science and the Imagination
See video

Pt.1 | Pt.2 | Pt.3 | Pt. 4 | Pt.5

  Paul Alivisatos - Moderator Director of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory      
  George Crabtree Distinguished Fellow at Argonne National Laboratory      
  Mildred Dresselhaus Institute Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology      
  Mark Ratner Professor at Northwestern University      
2:45 PM Science for Energy Technology: The Industry Perspective
See video

Pt.1 | Pt.2 | Pt.3 | Pt.4

  Jeffrey Wadsworth - Moderator President and CEO of Battelle Memorial Institute      
  David E. Carlson Chief Scientist of BP Solar      
  Yet-Ming Chiang Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and founder of A123 Systems      
  Catherine T. Hunt R&D Director of Innovation Sourcing and Sustainable Technologies at The Dow Chemical Company      
3:30 PM Break
4:00 PM EFRCs: A View from Senior EFRC Representatives PDF
See video

Pt.1 | Pt.2 | Pt.3 | Pt.4 | Pt.5

  Persis Drell - Moderator Director at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory      
  Neal Armstrong Director of the Center for Interface Science: Solar Electric Materials led by the University of Arizona      
  Emily Carter Co-Director of the Combustion Energy Frontier Research Center led by Princeton University and Team Leader of the Heterogeneous Functional Materials Center led by the University of South Carolina      
  Don DePaolo Director of the Center for Nanoscale Control of Geologic CO2 led by Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory      
  Brent Gunnoe Director of the Center for Catalytic Hydrocarbon Functionalization led by the University of Virginia      
5:00 PM Award Ceremony: Life at the Frontiers of Energy Research Video Competition
  Ivan Amato Senior communications officer in the Pew Health Group of the Pew Charitable Trusts      
  Paula Apsell Senior Executive Producer, NOVA and Director of the WGBH Science Unit      
  William D. Phillips Physicist, Joint Quantum Institute at the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the University of Maryland, and recipient of the 1997 Nobel Prize in Physics      
5:30 PM - 7:00 PM Poster Session and Reception
Time Speaker Affiliation Title Slides Video
Thursday – May 26, 2011 (8:00 AM – 7:30 PM)
8:00 AM - 10:00 AM Global Perspectives on Frontiers in Energy Research
8:00 AM Pat Dehmer Deputy Director for Science Programs at DOE Facing Our Energy Challenges in a New Era of Science PDF | PPT
See video

Pt.1 | Pt.2 | Pt.3

8:30 AM Kazunari Domen Professor at the University of Tokyo, Japan   PDF
See video

Pt.1 | Pt.2

9:00 AM Robin Grimes Professor at Imperial College, United Kingdom   PDF
See video

Pt.1 | Pt.2 | Pt.3

9:30 AM Jean-Marie Tarascon Professor at the University de Picardie Jules Verne, France   PDF
See video

Pt.1 | Pt.2 | Pt.3

10:00 AM Break
10:15 AM Parallel Scientific Sessions I †
12:15 PM - 1:45 PM Lunch on Your Own
12:35 PM - 1:35 PM Bring Your Own Lunch Sessions (3)
  Career Opportunities in Energy Sciences and Technology
  Michelle Buchanan Associate Laboratory Director in Physical Sciences at Oak Ridge National Laboratory      
  Marc Kastner Dean of the School of Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology      
  Joseph F. Mercurio Manager New Business Development, Global Research and Development at General Motors      
  Translating Basic Research to Energy Technology
  Karina Edmonds Technology Transfer Coordinator at DOE      
9:30 AM Celia Merzbacher Vice President of Innovative Partnerships at the Semiconductor Research Corporation      
  Science Policy, the Budget Battles of the 112th Congress, and the EFRCs
9:30 AM Benjamin Brown Senior Science and Technology Advisor at the Office of Science      
1:45 PM Parallel Scientific Sessions II
3:45 PM Break
4:00 PM Parallel Scientific Sessions III
6:00 PM EFRC and DOE Research and Networking Poster Reception
7:30 PM Adjourn
Friday – May 27, 2011 (8:00 AM–12:30 PM)
8:00 AM Parallel Scientific Sessions IV
8:00 AM Scientific Sessions Close-Out Panel
9:00 AM Scientific Sessions Close-Out Panels
10:00 AM Poster Session #2
11:30 AM Scientific Sessions Close-out Panels
12:30 PM Adjourn

† Session topics:

  1. Organic photovoltaics
  2. Inorganic photovoltaics
  3. Solar fuels and biomass
  4. Energy storage and transmission
  5. Energy conservation and efficiency
  6. Carbon capture and sequestration
  7. Materials in extreme environments
  8. Effective and sustainable materials design: integration of computation, theory and experiment
  9. New tools and methods for materials synthesis and characterization