Science for our
Energy Future

Energy Frontier Research Center

Community Website

2015 Student and Postdoc Competition

2015 Graduate Student and Postdoctoral Researcher Competition

From the 1100 graduate students and postdoctoral researchers involved in the EFRC program, each of the 32 EFRCs was invited to nominate one graduate student and one postdoctoral researcher to present a talk at the 2015 EFRC Principal Investigators’ Meeting in Washington, D.C. on October 26-27, 2015.  The DOE EFRC management team selected 16 finalists from more than 50 nominations. At the meeting, teams of DOE program managers selected the top three graduate students and postdoctoral researchers based on how well the research exemplified the opportunities provided by the EFRC funding modality, scientific excellence, and topical diversity.  The winners received an award certificate from Harriet Kung, Associate Director of the DOE Office of Basic Energy Sciences, during a ceremony at the end of the meeting.

The abstracts of all the finalist talks can be found here.

Graduate Student Winners

Probing Supercapacitor Carbon-Electrolyte Structure and Ion Dynamics with Neutrons Damage thro

Boris Dyatkin1, Hsiu-Wen Wang2, Eugene Mamontov3, Naresh Osti3, Katherine Page3, Ray Unocic3, Gernot Rother3, Matthew Thompson4, Yu Zhang4, Peter Cummings4, David Wesolowski3, Yury Gogotsi1

1Drexel University; 2University of Tennessee; 3Oak Ridge National Laboratory; 4Vanderbilt University

Fluid Interface Reactions, Structures and Transport Center (FIRST)

Expanding the Range of Light Absorbers for Bacterial Photosynthesis: YFP-Enhanced Charge Separation at the Rhodobacter Sphaeroides Reaction Centre

Kaitlyn M. Faries1; Katie J. Grayson2; Pu Qian2; Preston Dilbeck1; Elizabeth Martin2; Jonathan M. Yuen1; Dariusz M. Niedzwiedzki1; Dewey Holten1; Christine Kirmaier1 and C. Neil Hunter2

1Washington University, St. Louis; 2University of Sheffield, UK

Photosynthetic Antenna Frontier Research Center (PARC)

Incorporation of Perylene-3,4-dicarboximides into Photoanodes and Photocathodes for Solar Fuels

Rebecca J. Lindquist1; Marek B. Majewski1; Julianne M. Thomsen2; William L. Hoffeditz1; Brian T. Phelan1; Kelly L. Materna2; Joseph T. Hupp1, Gary W. Brudvig2; Michael R. Wasielewski1

1Northwestern University; 2Yale University

Argonne-Northwestern Solar Energy Research Center (ANSER)

Postdoctoral Researcher Winners

The Role of Advanced Reactive Surface Area Characterization in Improving Predictions of Mineral Reaction Rates in Subsurface Porous Media

Lauren E. Beckingham1, Elizabeth Mitnick2, Carl I. Steefel1, Shuo Zhang2, Li Yang1, Marco Voltolini1, Alexander M. Swift3, David R. Cole3, Julie M. Sheets3, Timothy Kneafsey1, Gautier Landrot4, Lawrence Anovitz5, Saeko Mito6, Ziqiu Xue6, Donald DePaolo1,2, Jonathan Ajo-Franklin1

1Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; 2University of California, Berkeley; 3Ohio State University; 4Synchrotron SOLEIL; 5Oak Ridge National Laboratory; 6Research Institute of Innovative Technology for the Earth (RITE)

Center for Nanoscale Controls on Geologic CO2 (NCGC)

Predicting and Controlling Polymorphism in Transition Metal Oxides

Lauren M. Garten1, Hong Kevin Ding2, Laura T. Schelhas3, Kevin Stone3, Prashun Gorai1, Paul Ndione1, Kristin Persson2, Michael F. Toney3, Vladan Stevanović1,4, David S. Ginley1

1National Renewable Energy Laboratory; 2Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; 3SSRL Materials Science Division, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory; 4Colorado School of Mines

Center for Next Generation of Materials by Design: Incorporating Metastability (CNGMD)

Metal-Organic Framework Nodes as Nearly Ideal Supports for Molecular Catalysts: NU-1000- and UiO-66-Supported Iridium Complexes for Ethylene Hydrogenation and Dimerization

[ICDC] Samuel O. Odoh1, Dong Yang2, Timothy Wang3, Omar K. Farha3, Joseph T. Hupp3, Christopher Cramer1, Bruce C. Gates2,4, Laura Gagliardi1

1Department of Chemistry, Chemical Theory Center, and Supercomputing Institute, University of Minnesota; 2Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science, University of California, Davis; 3Departments of Chemistry and Chemical and Biological Engineering, Northwestern University

Inorganometallic Catalyst Design Center (ICDC)

Graduate Student Finalists

Aziz Abdellahi


Tyler R.

U. Delaware

Ashley Marshall

U. Colorado

Max Murialdo


Katlyn Turner


Sean Vig

U. Illinois

Postdoctoral Researcher Finalists

Lorenzo Masarati


Uma Tumuluri


Venu Gopal 


Branco Zugic