Science for our
Energy Future

Energy Frontier Research Center

Community Website

2021 Student and Postdoc Team Science Contest

There are more than 1,600 graduate students and postdoctoral researchers involved in the current Energy Frontier Research Centers (EFRC), BES energy storage and fuels from sunlight Energy Innovation Hubs, BES Computational Materials Sciences awards (CMS), and BES Computational Chemical Sciences awards (CCS).

To highlight their accomplishments and further the development of the future scientific energy workforce, the Department of Energy’s Office of Basic Energy Sciences (BES) sponsored a Student and Postdoc Team Science Contest as part of the 2021 Virtual EFRC-Hub-CMS-CCS Principal Investigators’ Meeting on October 18-19, 2021. Each Director was invited to nominate a team of two or more graduate student and/or postdoctoral researchers to present a joint virtual talk about their center research. The DOE EFRC management team selected 9 teams to give talks.

The abstracts of all the finalist talks can be found on pages 60-68 of the PI Meeting Program Book. The teams are listed below. Team members are highlighted in red; presenters at the meeting are underlined.

Team Science Winners

Team Science Winners

(from left) Jessi E. S. van der Hoeven and Hio Tong Ngan

Entropic Control of HD Exchange Rates over Dilute Pd-In-Au Alloy Nanoparticle Catalysts

[EFRC – IMASC] Jessi E. S. van der Hoeven1, Hio Tong Ngan2, Austin Taylor1, Nathaniel M. Eagan3, Joanna Aizenberg1, Philippe Sautet2; Robert J. Madix1, Cynthia M. Friend1

1Harvard University; 2University of California, Los Angeles; 3Tufts University

Integrated Mesoscale Architectures for Sustainable Catalysis (IMASC)

Team Science Winners

(from upper left) Zeyu Hui, Steven King, Xiao Zhang
(from lower left) Jingyi Wu, Zhengyu Ju

Tunable Porous Electrode Architectures for Enhanced Li-Ion Storage Kinetics in Thick Electrodes

[EFRC – m2M/t] Xiao Zhang1, Zeyu Hui2, Steven King3, Lei Wang4, Zhengyu Ju1, Jingyi Wu1, Kenneth J. Takeuchi3,4, Amy C. Marschilok3,4, Alan C. West2, Esther S. Takeuchi3,4, Guihua Yu1

1University of Texas at Austin; 2Columbia University; 3Stony Brook University; 4Brookhaven National Laboratory

Center for Mesoscale Transport Properties (m2mt)




Team Science Winners

(from left) Kaihang Shi and Yangzesheng Sun

Integrated computational engineering towards accelerated screening and optimization for nanoporous materials

[CCS – NMGC] Kaihang Shi1, Yangzesheng Sun2, J. Ilja Siepmann2, Randall Q. Snurr1

1Northwestern University; 2University of Minnesota

Nanoporous Materials Genome Center (NMGC)

Team Science Winners

(from left) Zhenglu Li, Mit H. Naik, and Emma C. Regan

Nature of Novel Moiré Exciton States in Transition Metal Dichalcogenide Heterobilayers

[CMS – C2SEPEM] Mit H. Naik1,2, Emma C. Regan1,2, Zhenglu Li1,2, Felipe H. da Jornada3, Feng Wang1,2, Steven G. Louie1,2

1University of California at Berkeley; 2Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; 3Stanford University

Center for Computational Study of Excited-State Phenomena in Energy Materials (C2SEPEM)





Team Science Winners

(from left) Rebecca D. McAuliffe, Guanglong Huang, Victoria Petrova, and Matthew J. McDermott

Thin Film Paradigm to Probe Diffusion during Solid-State Metathesis Reactions

[EFRC – GENESIS] Rebecca D. McAuliffe1, Guanglong Huang2, David Montiel2, Apurva Mehta3, Ryan C. Davis3, Victoria Petrova4, Matthew J. McDermott5, Katie L. Browning1, James R. Neilson6, Kristin A. Persson5, Ping Liu4, Katsuyo Thornton2, Gabriel M. Veith1

1Oak Ridge National Laboratory; 2University of Michigan; Ann Arbor; 3SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory; 4University of California-San Diego; 5University of California, Berkeley; 6Colorado State University

A Next Generation Synthesis Center (GENESIS)



Team Science Winners

(from upper left) Emily Nienhuis and William Smith (from lower left) Andrew Wildman and Lixin Lu

Radiolysis across multiple timescales in extreme environments

[EFRC – IDREAM] Lixin Lu1; Emily Nienhuis2, Andrew Wildman1, Xiaosong Li1,2, William Smith3, Aurora Clark3,2, Jay LaVerne4, Thomas Orlando5, Greg Kimmel2, Xin Zhang2, Carolyn Pearce2,1, Linda Young6

1University of Washington; 2Pacific Northwest National Laboratory; 3Washington State University; 4Notre Dame University; 5Georgia Institute of Technology; 6Argonne National Laboratory

Interfacial Dynamics in Radioactive Environments and Materials (IDREAM)

Team Science Finalists

(from left) I-Ting Chiu and Shenli Zhang

Harvesting oxygen vacancies in cobaltites for low power neuromorphic devices

[EFRC – Q-MEEN-C] Shenli Zhang1, I-Ting Chiu2, Min-Han Lee3, Shaobo Cheng4, Brandon Gunn3, Hien Vo1, Mingzhen Feng2, Larry Heki5, Zhen Zhang6, Yahya Mohtashami5, Pavel N. Lapa3, Padraic Shafer7, Alpha T. N'Diaye7, Apurva Mehta8, Shriram Ramanathan6, Jon A Schuller5, Yimei Zhu4, Alex Frañó3, Ivan K. Schuller3, Yayoi Takamura2, Giulia Galli1,9

1The University of Chicago; 2University of California, Davis; 3University of California, San Diego; 4Brookhaven National Laboratory; 5University of California, Santa Barbara; 6Purdue University; 7Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; 8SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory; 9Argonne National Laboratory

Quantum Materials for Energy Efficient Neuromorphic Computing (Q-MEEN-C)

Team Science Finalists

(from left) Wanyue Peng, Mohamadali Malakoutian, Daniel Field, and John Wright

Thermal Properties of Ultrawide-band-Gap Nitride Material Heterostructures

[EFRC – ULTRA] W. Peng1, J. Wright2, M. Malkoutian3, D. Field4, R. Wilson1, D. Jena2, H. G. Xing2, S. Chowdhury3, M. Kuball4

1Univerisy of California – Riverside; 2Cornell University; 3Stanford University; 4Univeristy of Bristol

Ultra Materials for a Resilient, Smart Electricity Grid (ULTRA) 

Team Science Finalists

(from left) Mawuli Deegbey and Walter Johnsen

Using Di-Copper Molecular Compounds to Investigate Intermediates in CO Reduction to C2 Products

[Hub – CHASE] Mawuli Deegbey1, Walter Johnsen2, Karen I. Goldberg2, Elena Jakubikova1, Thomas E. Mallouk2

1North Carolina State University; 2University of Pennsylvania

Center for Hybrid Approaches in Solar Energy (CHASE)